Five for Friday… on Sunday cause “I’m all caught up.”- said no teacher ever

fiveforfriday2_thumb[3]

Yeah, I’m aware it’s Sunday… but I really wanted to get in my Five for Friday! That always seems to be my life at the beginning of a new school year–>Always playing catch up and never quite getting there. Which leads me to my Five…

A good friend of mine posted a movie on Facebook recently that some friends/ coworkers of his created. You may have seen the “Said No Teacher Ever” clip that’s been blowing up the web lately… If not, watch it {here}.

My own version of “Said No Teacher Ever”…

#1~ “New technology is so convenient and useful.” Don’t get me wrong, of course technology can be useful… but when it’s new and you have to do training, then practice, plus time to set up and investigate the “technology” so that you know more than the children, and it doesn’t consistently work correctly– it pretty much makes you want to pull all your hair out and throw things out the window. We are currently getting some new student desktop computers in our classrooms, so I hope that some of the frustrations will lessen.

#2~ “I feel totally caught up with all my paperwork.” Nope. Never gonna happen. I’ve learned to live with that… I’ve said before I am a recovering perfectionist! It does get easier to let things go and to prioritize what needs to be done, but the feeling of a long To Do list never really feels any lighter. As long as I have time with my family, I don’t need to be caught up at work!

#3~ “I love having so much free time to see my friends.” I’m so glad that I have friends that stick around for the other 9 months out of the year that I go MIA! I don’t even have as much time as I would like with my friends from work… but we manage to find some tom-foolery and shenanigans while we’re working and that makes every day fun 🙂

#4~ “That’s not part of my job.” I’m pretty sure most teachers don’t do well with saying ‘no’. We are moms, doctors, secretaries, janitors, and every other thing under the sun at any time that our children need us to be. And I love it.

#5~ “I can’t think of anything I need to do in my classroom.” This one is HEAVY sarcasm. I think especially because of Pinterest and TPT, I will ALWAYS have things I want to do in my classroom. School has begun and I am trying to get everything settled in my room before I realize it’s Christmas break… and when I do, I’m looking forward to sharing some of the awesome ideas that I’ve acquired from other teachers and a few gems of my own! Until next time—

What are your “said no teacher ever” moments? It’s fun to share them… maybe even a little bit of a stress relief to laugh about 🙂

About mrsburrell

I am a second grade teacher in Jasper County. I love being a mother, wife, and friend. My favorite hobbies are reading, writing, hiking, camping, running, and creating. I am always interested in learning new things!
This entry was posted in Common Core Chores, I need more to do in my classroom... ha ha ha and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

