Currently September and Listen to Reading Response cards

Wow, I have really been slack on adding to my blog lately! But ya know, sometimes life happens and it’s a good thing smiley

I feel like school life has been moving right along… maybe even a little smoother than the beginning of most school years! My Everett is keeping us all busy, all the time. I can’t believe he’s over 2 1/2. Time doesn’t just fly, it seems to zoom along at warp speed!

Which brings me to my Currently for September. I’m linking up with Farley from Oh Boy! Fourth Grade. I just love these! I realize I’m about a third of the month too late, but no big whoop. I have been clicking on all the blogs that are linked up and reading about all these other great teachers so I kinda forgot to get in on it!

currently-septI am Currently

Listening to the bees buzzing behind me in the crepe myrtles as I sit on my front porch~ working on blogging and lesson plans, but enjoying the light breeze, the sunny day, and of course all of our country wild life (insects). It’s extremely peaceful.

Loving that the Dawgs whooped up on South Carolina! Ya-yeah! Great game yesterday. I love my Dawgs and I love me some football.

Thinking that grandparents are great! Yes, indeed. This summer we have been blessed to have my parents and my husband’s mother to move closer to where we live. They each keep Everett at least once during the week so he only has to go to day care a few times. They help with dinners and cleaning. They ROCK! Happy Grandparents Day!!!

Wanting to go to the mountains soon. I need to see leaves changing colors, feel cool mountain air, smell a campfire, and hike to the top of somewhere high. I miss it. I can feel fall coming and that means my yearning for the mountains begins! I hope we can make a retreat up there sometime soon to enjoy the peace and tranquility.

Needing time with some dear friends. I have the greatest friends that anyone could ask for (No, don’t try and one up me here, I’ve corner the market on awesome people in my life). I have 3 ladies in particular that I love like sisters, but none of them live close to me {If they did, they would probably have to deal with me coming over every day, plopping down on their couch with a glass of wine, and lamenting about days gone by :} I am hoping that we can at least make some more phone time for each other, and plan some future visits to sooth my soul!!!

The last box is a LOVE YOURSELF spot. I am hoping that before September is over, I can address my dire need of a pedicure (maybe even a hair cut… heck, maybe I’ll get them all cut!) That is my favorite kind of me time with a magazine, a frappe, and someone rubbing my feet. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Also, I LOVE my friends from work and we never spend time together other than when we are working. I hope we can change that this year with some girl time plans! And lastly, I’m gonna be gettin’ my craft on! I love making and crafting but it seems to always fall WAY down on the list of priorities… especially since it’s not a priority. But it’s fun, and this is about me and what I like, so I hope I can make time for it and come up with some cute gifts for the holidays.

It’s not the holidays yet, but here’s a gift for you! Not so much a gift since this one’s not free, but hey, mama gotta try and make some money sometimes! I am adding some Listen to Reading Response cards to my TPT store. Check them out!

 

I printed them, cut them, and placed them in a cute box next to my Listen to Reading station. I steam-lined the process of the students choosing a story by linking all the websites they can go to from my classroom website. So, each computer basically only has one icon on it. They choose a website that they will try, then the children are responsible for filling out the appropriate card once they have finished Listen to Reading. I wanted them to be short, like check lists so that the kids would be more likely to fill them out. They place a completed card in our voting box. Once a week I will draw one card from the box and the student who filled it out gets to share it aloud. Then, the story they listened to or the game they played becomes the “Book of the Week” for the next week and we encourage each other to check it out. I love the Listen to Reading component of Daily 5, I just needed a little something extra to use with it.

Happy Sunday!

 

About mrsburrell

I am a second grade teacher in Jasper County. I love being a mother, wife, and friend. My favorite hobbies are reading, writing, hiking, camping, running, and creating. I am always interested in learning new things!
This entry was posted in Teaching Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Currently September and Listen to Reading Response cards

  1. sammysue32 says:

    Hi there! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I am so happy to have found yours! It sounds like we definitely need to take some *me* time soon for that yummy cup of coffee and a foot pampering! We work so hard… we need to treat ourselves to a little something special sometimes! Hope you’re having a great school year so far!

    🙂 Samantha
    Making Lemonade in Second Grade

    • mrsburrell says:

      Yes, indeed! I don’t know about you but I have to keep a check on my priorities almost weekly so that I remember how to keep a good balance… it’s hard when we LOVE what we do and don’t really mind doing it all the time!

  2. Tina Dunn says:

    Hi! Found you at Farley’s! So glad to know that I am not the only one late. 🙂

    Have a great year!

    • mrsburrell says:

      Yeah, story of my life! I just saw something on FB that said “That awkward moment when you’re not sure if you actually have free time or you’re just forgetting everything.” Everything in it’s own time, I guess 🙂

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Love yours – newest follower 🙂

    I totally understand about the pampering and NEVER having time! 🙂

    Chrissy
    Adventures In Second Grade

Leave a comment