Our schools need your prayers {ALWAYS}

SparksMiddleSchool-front

I am glad that I do not know what it’s like to be involved in a school shooting, and I hope I never find out first-hand. I have some friends and family that have experienced this very trauma, but thank you God, I have not.

Being extremely empathetic, I often find it hard to separate my feelings from the people I love’s feelings. I am the cryer… If you cry, I cry. I tend to get fired up about any injustice. Unfortunately, anger passes easily to me as well…

I think my empathy is why I act like such a fool so often. I love to laugh and to see others laugh. Smiles are contagious. I don’t like to see my friends feeling confused, mad, sad, or irritated… thus, the sarcasm and inappropriate jokes ensue and there’s me, the fool, trying to change the climate of the room. I’m sure it can be quite distracting at faculty meetings, but I suppose it’s my defense mechanism in a way.

I can’t imagine that there are any words of condolence that could ease the pain of the people in Sparks, Nevada today… or any other school or town on any other day when a tragedy like this has occured. As an on-looker, it feels to me a lot like the wreckage after a tornado. Whether the shooting is done by a student or by an adult, there are no BIG warning signs that anyone can really act on to prevent it. There are no life-changing laws that will stop the madness. There is no school policy or routine that could possibly prepare people for something like this. Of course you can take as many steps and preventative measures as possible, and it might help, but there is no special formula to make these events go away. Whether we lose 1 person or many, there is still an irreversable pain and mourning that can be felt throughout the nation.

The sentiments afterward may always be the same, but they always ring true. We need to keep reminding each other of these things. We’re all human, trying to be independent, but dependent on each other. What is most important to you? Your job? Your car? Your house? Your money? Our most valuable assets are our relationships with others– the people that we love, that deem us worthy of love in return.

Hug your children tighter. Teach them that they are loved. Show them that they are loved. Our tongues are a strong tool for change- a single sentence can change somebody’s whole perspective on life and a little encouragement can go a long way.

A few wise quotes {not spoken by me… I’m not that wise} to hold on to when you’re feeling down or angry:

“God is good, and heaven is forever. These two facts should brighten up even the darkest day.”~ Marie T. Freeman

“Life isn’t a matter of milestones but of moments.”~ Rose Kennedy

“Getting things accomplished isn’t nearly as important as taking time for love.”~ Janette Oke

“Nobody is perfect. Look for the good in others. Forget the rest.”~  Barbara Bush

“His strength is made perfect, not in our strength, but in our weakness.”~ Hannah Whitall Smith

See the link below for a recent article on this event if you’re interested…

http://www.cnn.com/2013/10/21/justice/nevada-middle-school-shooting/

About mrsburrell

I am a second grade teacher in Jasper County. I love being a mother, wife, and friend. My favorite hobbies are reading, writing, hiking, camping, running, and creating. I am always interested in learning new things!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

